• Welcome to The Audio Annex! If you have any trouble logging in or signing up, please contact 'admin - at - theaudioannex.com'. Enjoy!
  • HTTPS (secure web browser connection) has been enabled - just add "https://" to the start of the URL in your address bar, e.g. "https://theaudioannex.com/forum/"
  • Congratulations! If you're seeing this notice, it means you're connected to the new server. Go ahead and post as usual, enjoy!
  • I've just upgraded the forum software to Xenforo 2.0. Please let me know if you have any problems with it. I'm still working on installing styles... coming soon.

What would you do?

Snake Doctor

I have a ATI505 amp and the left speaker connection has gone out, I checked to see if it was a fuse, no such luck. This is the 3rd or 4th time I have had to take the amp in for repair. However, I am not so sure it is worth the cost of evaluation, parts and labor. So this is going to be a multi-question thread.

All of you most likely know I am an amateur at the lowest level in knowledge, however I know what I like in audio when I hear it and video when I see it. So please be patient with me...:)

The way I understand it is an amplifier runs wide open, meaning there isn't a way to control the volume on the amp so it is the prepro's job to contol how much signal gets to the amp and how the sound is translated so the speakers deliver DTS/Dolby Digital and now ATMOS (which I do not understand. I thought Atmos was audio only until I was at Costco and saw OLED with and without Atmos.)

So if that is true, it doesn't matter what amp I buy, but I need to know how many speakers it will support at what amps and where they are located....front left, center, front right, left effect, right effect, left surround, right surround, and perhaps way in the back speakers. I am not sure where Atmos comes in (ceiling?) or how it will improve the sound.