• Welcome to The Audio Annex! If you have any trouble logging in or signing up, please contact 'admin - at - theaudioannex.com'. Enjoy!
  • HTTPS (secure web browser connection) has been enabled - just add "https://" to the start of the URL in your address bar, e.g. "https://theaudioannex.com/forum/"
  • Congratulations! If you're seeing this notice, it means you're connected to the new server. Go ahead and post as usual, enjoy!
  • I've just upgraded the forum software to Xenforo 2.0. Please let me know if you have any problems with it. I'm still working on installing styles... coming soon.

Etymotic ER4 owners here?

GreatDane

I remember one member that had some ER4's, can't remember who.

Anyway, yesterday one of my ER4 drivers developed a problem, slight distortion. I replaced the filters but that didn't help. They are about 8 years old.

I've been using these ER4's for sleep duty for several months after my Westone 3 cables shorted. I never really liked the W3 but wanted to try them so I traded my free pair of Monster Turbine Pro Copper with a Head-Fi member. I thought the Monster was quite a bit better...oh well. I do still have my Ortofon EQ-7 but I like them too much to risk killing the cables which are non-replaceable. For $300 Ortofon should have made them replaceable...ugh.

So, I can send the ER4 back to Etymotic and pay $85 for them to match a new driver. I'll probably do that since they do cost a lot more than that. I'm still impressed that the ER4 has been around since 1991 or so and they still compete with the dozens of brands available today for the price.

Until then I plan to stop by Guitar Center tomorrow and buy a pair of Shure SE215 to use as my sleep IEMs. I like that for $100 they have replaceable cables. For my low-level Classical music listening I think they will do fine.

I'll let you know how they sound. :music-listening: