• Welcome to The Audio Annex! If you have any trouble logging in or signing up, please contact 'admin - at - theaudioannex.com'. Enjoy!
  • HTTPS (secure web browser connection) has been enabled - just add "https://" to the start of the URL in your address bar, e.g. "https://theaudioannex.com/forum/"
  • Congratulations! If you're seeing this notice, it means you're connected to the new server. Go ahead and post as usual, enjoy!
  • I've just upgraded the forum software to Xenforo 2.0. Please let me know if you have any problems with it. I'm still working on installing styles... coming soon.

Re-Lauch of the SAE Brand

MakeMineVinyl

As some of you may know, I'm an engineer at ATI (Amplifier Technologies). ATI was originally SAE back in the early days, then the SAE brand was purchased in the 80s by a 3rd party, then bought back by ATI, and has languished for many years.

ATI has re-launched the SAE brand with a new stereo amplifier, and I'm particularly happy about this because I had a large hand its design. The first release is called the 2HP (for 2 horsepower). I've seen it covered in a few magazines and it has a dedicated website (http://hear-sae.com/products/sae-2hp/). Hopefully the reviews will start coming soon.

In designing and laying out the 4 layer circuit boards, I took a very unusual approach for an audio amplifier of using power-plane techniques which are more typically used in computer PCBs. Also, I took extreme care in keeping absolute symmetry of the current paths of each device in the signal path, along with the use of double-weight copper PCB traces, some of which were made of extreme width, and covering all four layers, so that there would be no compromise in current carrying capability or imbalance of currents which could cause distortion and noise.

The result of all this is that the amplifier measures as good as a top notch preamp - only it does it at 800 watts per channel :banana-rock: