• Welcome to The Audio Annex! If you have any trouble logging in or signing up, please contact 'admin - at - theaudioannex.com'. Enjoy!
  • HTTPS (secure web browser connection) has been enabled - just add "https://" to the start of the URL in your address bar, e.g. "https://theaudioannex.com/forum/"
  • Congratulations! If you're seeing this notice, it means you're connected to the new server. Go ahead and post as usual, enjoy!
  • I've just upgraded the forum software to Xenforo 2.0. Please let me know if you have any problems with it. I'm still working on installing styles... coming soon.

Turntable $300-$600

lakedmb

Ok, so now that things seem to be slowing down in my life some, I've finally setup my office with an old Pioneer SX-770 stereo receiver and my Klipsch Heresy's. I'm now starting to peek at turntables, but I have zero knowledge on the topic. My first instinct was the Pro-Ject Debut III, thought that may be due to how much advertising they do than anything else.

So, I'm curious if anyone has any recommendations for a nice quality turntable with only a budget of $300-$600?

Thanks!

While I own two turntables (and multiple cartridges / accessories etc.) I really have to ask: why a turntable? If you have a collection of vinyl from decades ago but nothing to play it with, that's a great answer and forget I asked the question. But otherwise... I see no good reason to want one (including the now-trendy "I really want to be hip and get into vinyl.")

Some suggestions: if you are thinking about the Pro-Ject you should also consider the Rega RP1. Only issue with these is that you plan to use it with an old Pioneer SX-770, whose phono stage was probably nothing to write home about (from what I can see it has two phono inputs: one for ceramic cartridges and the other for "magnetic" cartridges. I assume the latter means MM). Just not sure how that would work out.