• Welcome to The Audio Annex! If you have any trouble logging in or signing up, please contact 'admin - at - theaudioannex.com'. Enjoy!
  • HTTPS (secure web browser connection) has been enabled - just add "https://" to the start of the URL in your address bar, e.g. "https://theaudioannex.com/forum/"
  • Congratulations! If you're seeing this notice, it means you're connected to the new server. Go ahead and post as usual, enjoy!
  • I've just upgraded the forum software to Xenforo 2.0. Please let me know if you have any problems with it. I'm still working on installing styles... coming soon.

Just don't know - Sub calibration

bmwuk

Listened to music last night, some based on the rrcommendations, running a 2 channel with sub. I can't say I was particularly moved. Then even threw on a bass heavy rap song and still nothing impressive. What am I missing? I quite frankly can't say adding gain did much of anything . Since it is my first sub I'm new to calibrating and I'm not sure I trust Yamaha and their YPAO for subs. And the damn thing defaults on calibration that the sub is 25' away. Confused completely.

And no I don't understand 3db above octave etc.

To add, I thought the sub would have more transducer esque moments. Not feeling to much

Did you adjust gain on the sub or in the Yamaha?
External. I have no idea where to begin setting on the sub. Then from there I calibrated the sub via YPAO. I believe I have about 40% on the dial when I calibrated

I purchased some PSA subs soon after they were introduced and noticed they were anemic when the gain was set below the 12:00 position whereas every SVS sub I had would pound when the gain knob was set anywhere between 11:00 - 12:00. I contacted Tom V and he suggested I set the gain to the 2:00 or 3:00 position and re-calibrate. That did the trick so you might want to give it a shot.

Set the level on the sub higher and run the Yamaha calibration again.